The Two Trees

Two TreesMy little sister sent me the link to a speech given at the FAIR conference in 2010. The presenter is a BYU professor who professes to be a feminist, but explains in her speech that she stays a member of the LDS church because she is a feminist, despite feminists who say that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is male-dominated, unequal religion.

There has been a lot of talk in the news lately of women wanting the Priesthood, more equality, changed wardrobe suggestions, etc. I understand what they might perceive as inequality, but I don’t agree with them. The speech this professor further opened my eyes to the absolute equality and shared responsibility we as members, men and women, of the LDS community have. I wish every woman who feels she needs/ deserves/ should have the Priesthood could read this article.

I invite you, feminist or not, to read this article about the Two Trees. I read the speech at 3:45 a.m. while I nursed my newborn son and sat there and cried because at that moment I realized, more than ever, that my role as a woman is divine, beautiful, and so, so, so important. I learned more about the Plan of Salvation, the Atonement, my expectations for my husband and son (now even higher because of this speech), and the beautiful role I have as a woman, a mother, and a daughter of Eve. It is a magnificent speech – my applause goes out to that professor. Three cheers for the distinct roles and responsibilities of men and women. Where would we be without them?

READ THE SPEECH HERE.

2 Responses to “The Two Trees”

  1. Samantha Murphey

    I read this when it was published a few years ago and loved it. It’s a beautiful way to think about our roles. But I still call myself a feminist. I still wish people would recognize that feminism is much deeper and more expansive than wanting women to be like men. That’s a sad mischaracterization of what many feminists believe in. I love the gospel. I love what the gospel teaches about womanhood. I just think the church culture has plenty of room for improvement in how it deals with gospel truths about gender. I’m uncomfortable with how sure people are that everything in the church is exactly as God intends it to be. I think God has yet to reveal a lot. I’m full of questions and full of excitement about what he has in store for us, whatever it may be. Thanks for sharing, Ashley.

    Reply
  2. Krista

    YES!!! This explains exactly how I’ve felt for a long time regarding God’s view of and destiny for His daughters and I’ve been unable to really articulate it. This does perfectly! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Reply

Whatcha thinkin?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

