Fast…Yummy…and Healthy?

QuinoaI think the least pleasurable “to-do” during my week is planning the menu. I have the hardest time coming up with dinner ideas. I have at least 15 cookbooks but the recipes are either too hard, too expensive, or too time consuming. I’m not a picky eater, I’m just trying to make my life simple. Thankfully, quinoa came into my life. For all of you who are like me and can’t figure out what to make for dinner, here is an idea for you. (And for those of you who don’t think your husbands will like this… my husband loves this meal. And he is a “it’s not dinner without meat” kind of guy.)

Recipe: Meatless Taco Salad (don’t be scared by the “meatless.”)

Ingredients:

Two tomatoes

One head of lettuce

Salsa

1 box of pre-rinsed quinoa

1 cup of chicken broth

1 cup of water

1 can of corn (optional)

Mozzarella cheese

1 avocado

1 packet taco seasoning

1 bag of your favorite tortilla chips

1 can of black beans

What you do is cook the quinoa like rice – one cup of quinoa to two cups water. But instead of using two cups of water, I substituted one cup water with one cup of chicken broth. Mix the two liquids with the quinoa and dump the taco seasoning in the pot and boil until the quinoa is done. After it is done, it will be kind of fluffy. Mix in the can of rinsed black beans and stir around. I like adding the can of corn because it adds a touch of sweetness. Break the tortilla chips up on your plate, add the quinoa mix, sprinkle mozzarella cheese on top, then sprinkle diced tomatoes and avocados on top, lettuce, and top with salsa. You can add sour cream or Greek yogurt on top if you like the creamy tang. (Life is better with sour cream, in my opinion.) Then…eat! And enjoy!

Any of you have quick, easy, inexpensive, and healthy menu ideas you’d like to share?! I’d love it!

4 Responses to “Fast…Yummy…and Healthy?”

  1. laceyluwho

    Make it really meatless and cook the quinoa with one cup vegetable broth. It works just as well and tastes just as good 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ashley Bardsley

    Honestly–someone gave us the cookbook, “Cooking for Two” (I think from DB) and I love it. They are easy recipes with ingredients you always have and not huge portions so we don’t over eat.

    Reply
  3. Libby

    Nom nom! And Aaron is exaaaaaactly the same way, no meat is no bueno, but if I am cooking, ain’t nobody complaining 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

    Reply

Whatcha thinkin?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

