BreyersI went grocery shopping today and had everything I needed but still had a couple dollars left for this week’s grocery budget…so I did what any other self-respecting woman would do: I meandered through the ice cream isle. To my surprise, Breyers was on sale for $2.99. Done and done. I was super surprised because Breyers was always the “special ice cream” my family bought growing up. It was the best you could buy, but for $2.99? I think it was just a blessing because I stayed within my grocery budget. 😉

I get home and my husband opens the freezer and sees Breyers sitting there. “What is ‘Frozen Dairy Dessert?'” We looked at the label and sure enough, no where on the label does it say “ice cream.” Simply, “frozen dairy dessert.” We did a bit of research and found this article in the New York Times about Breyers’ identity crisis. “I scream…you scream…we all scream for frozen dairy dessert!” The beauty of the “all natural” Breyers is gone. Tear.

Come back, Breyers! But in the meantime, I’ll enjoy my new favorite: Tillamook.

